RSS Feed

Western or British?

Just had my first taster lesson in Western riding today.

I came away shaking, teary and euphoric, just because of the roller coaster of emotions and amount of adrenaline going on…

It was something like:
ooh, this is exciting…This is different…Oh, god, heels again, I always get nagged about them… This horse is playing up… Actually, that one was my fault… That one wasn’t, though!… (mutters) I hate this instructor, I am never, ever, ever going to get this and I want this lesson over…. Oh, that was OK actually. ..Actually not too bad… Bugger, lost it again… One handed reins, hand on the swell like a real cowboy – this is cool! Ohmigod, I’m loping! Love it!… Oops, where’s he going? How do I stop this thing?… Wanna go again, cool!!

Here’s how the professionals do it…


6 responses »

  1. I’ve ridden both methods – I’d say Western definitely beats British when it comes to long-distance trekking. After all, that’s what the gear was designed for. 🙂

    Reply
  2. That sounds exhausting!

    Reply
  3. I meant that in a good way 🙂

    Reply
  4. Sounds great – my horse riding not a great success. Someone I knew used to go every year somewhere in the States to holiday on a ranch – she and her husband were besotted on it. Think my riding days are over.

    Reply
  5. Sounds great – my horse riding not a great success. Someone I knew used to go every year somewhere in the States to holiday on a ranch – she and her husband were besotted on it. Think my riding days are over.

    Like your new look by the way – blog new look, I mean.

    Reply
  6. Sorry about duplicate posting. Can’t see where to edit it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

