RSS Feed

Pippin

Pippin arrived today. He started purring even before we’d let him out of  the carrier and hasn’t stopped, four hours later. He is definitely a human-friendly cat. Half an hour in, he was following us round the house, chirruping. No hiding in awkward spaces, hissing.

To help things along, I went to the library and got out two books on cats.
And one on Peter Mandelson.

On a completely different subject: I volunteer once a week as a receptionist for the Citizens Advice. I committed to the end of Feb because we might be moving (we’re not, it all fell through) and arranged to alternate with my replacement for a few weeks.

I found myself forgetting names, procedures and how to enter basic data. The house limbo, moving to sporadic freelance work instead of full-time, adjustment from central London to rural Suffolk and all the emotion-sifting and introspection that comes with doing a beginner’s creative writing course… all this has stripped me of self-confidence and left me feeling like a paranoid 16 year-old who doesn’t want to go to school.

So I was looking forward to ducking out of the CAB, even though the people I work with are very friendly and very helpful. Then my replacement was hit by back problems and won’t be taking over, meaning I’ll be there until someone else is found.

Something tells me this is a good thing: to be given the chance to overcome the life change wobbles and truly engage, especially in such an interesting and warm environment, with some intelligent and interesting people; instead of sciving off life for a week and having some duvet time (which I think is completely valid in life sometimes).

All the things I mentioned are changes (who likes those?… actually, lots of people thrive on variety, just not me!) for the good, not life’s serious problems (ill health, death, divorce etc etc). Sometimes those adaptability muscles need exercising to prevent atrophy!

2 responses »

  1. Pippin is beautiful – I look forward to hearing more about his development.

    Good for you volunteering but I know how you feel. Some days you just don’t want to go but somehow when you get there it’s OK. I think it’s always good to assume that other people are feeling awkward too and a friendly smile always seems to work well. I’m sure you’ll be fine.

    Reply
    • You’re right. I think most people are busy getting on with their job, too. I often find with a new job or voluntary thing like this that I go in very excited and enthusiastic, then suddenly go through a bit of questioning whether I’m doing it all wrong, then settle into it. I don’t know if that’s universal, or just me… but it’s reassuring (and obvious, when I think about it) that most people have days when they don’t want to go. Thanks for your comments.
      Pippin, by the way, settled in beautifully. He was scared of our open fire (which is much better than running at it and getting burned) but is now exploring and playing with his toys.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

